Introduction

Standard

For our group blog, we are going to discuss memes. This term may not sound familiar to most people, but everyone at least has seen one online. Memes spread through the Internet quickly and have made significant impact in most cases. In this blog, we will be outlining the history of memes and what exactly the term means. Following a brief history, we will discuss the importance of memes and how they are significant. Also, we will outline how memes are correlated with social media and are used for other activities such as business purposes. Than we will elaborate on how memes are seen in a cultural view and finally discuss memes in film and media. Our purpose for this blog is to inform about how memes are important on the web and how they continue to rise.

About Internet Memes

Hello class, my name is Doreace Walls and I am a Communications major concentrating in Public Relations. This is my third year attending Cal State, and before last quarter I had no interest in Public Relations what so ever. This is my first quarter taking any Public Relations courses and I enjoy them all very well so far. I am very new to blogging, and I must say I do not really enjoy it that much. When thinking about my "online identity" I would say that it is pretty slim to none. Although I do have and use Facebook, Twitter, IM, and email I am not an avid user and none of them tend to destract me from my studies, or have any impact on my personal life what so ever. I will say that the network that I am most on is Facebook, but most of my internet time is spent either for school purposes or searching for jobs and internships. 162694_170400206326959_100000709436058_408282_6063817_n.jpg (18.017 KB) My name is Brittney Birks. I am a 22 year old 4th year senior here at Cal State University. I plan to graduate in the spring of 2012 finally! It seems like it has taken me for ever to finish up my last bit of classes. I am majoring in Liberal Studies with a concentration in Communications. I chose communications as a concentration because I took a communications class by accident and fell in love with the aspects of the major. From then on out I knew that I was going to add communications into my degree somehow. After school I plan on staying at my current job with ArrowHead Credit Union as a teller 2 until I can find employment with an elementary school. I have a very limited online identity and I am hardly ever online, due to my crazy hectic schedule. I work two jobs. One is here on campus as a student mentor, which is part time. The other is (like mentioned before) with ArrowHead Credit Union as a full time teller. The only digital media networks that I engage in is Facebook, which I check about twice a week. I don't play any online games nore am I on any other social media networks. I guess I am a pretty dry person, but I am hoping to gain some kind of knowledge about the networks out there to offer from this class. 104_0176.JPG My name is LaTecia Yarbrough and I am a 3rd year communication major with an emphasis in Public Relations. I am 20 years old and one of the first in my family to go college. I also happen to love my school California State University of San Bernardino. I currently work for CSUSB housing and also live on campus as well. Something interesting about myself is I am the only child, I love the Lakers and the show house. To add to that, I can honestly say that I have never had a facebook account, but I do have a Twitter;%2

Leave a Reply

